Tracking Platform - Getting Started

Introduction

The Tracking Platform is a full-featured software service on the cloud for end-users. It is intuitive, easy to use and has been carefully designed to deliver the information you need when you need it.

This guide will introduce some of the Tracking Platform basics.

Contact Information

For the latest version of this document and other product information please visit our website at: https://www.libelium.com/

Before you start

You will need a Tracking Platform username and password. Contact your Sales agent to arrange this.

You will need access to the internet on a web browser or via a mobile device.

Website Address

The Tracking Platform is hosted in a number of regional data centers. This improves performance and scalability.

The Tracking Platform be white labelled with logos and colour themes. This is done at a “Partner” level. Partners are specified with a URL prefix.

Make sure to use your partner login to be taken to the correct server.

The website works very well on a mobile device – the site scales for small screens.

Login

Type in your username and password:

Click on the “Log in” button.

Location

Click on the “Live Tracking” button. Or choose “Live Tracking” in the top menu ribbon:

Select the asset you want to see:

And see where the asset is on the map. Note the telemetry displayed in the pop-up. This is configurable in the Asset Details.

Partners vs Organisations

Partner: A Partner usually has many organisations beneath it. It has the option to create Organisations. White labelling is typically done at a partner level (URL and logo).

Organisations: Organisations sit below Partners in the Tracking Platform hierarchy. An Organisation is a distinct grouping of assets. A client will log into an organisation.

Users can be mapped to multiple organisations but belong to a 'home' organisation. To edit a user account, it must be edited from within this home organisation.

Switch between different organisations using Account/Switch Organisation in the top right of the screen. Ensure you switch to the right organisation before completing actions like creating Assets, Users, Geo Fences, etc.

Setting up a User

1 - Switch to the correct organisation.

2 - Go to “Admin” → “Users”.

3 - Go to “Create New User”:

4 - Insert the username, name, surname and password.

5 - Go to Permissions and select the permissions the user may have in your organisation. Starting with defaults is recommended.

6 - Go to Report and select the reports that the user will be allowed to see:

7 - Click save.

Adding an Asset

Go to Assets → Manage Assets:

Click on Create New Asset:

Enter the asset name, device type and device serial (short six-digit number on the back of the device). Other fields are optional.

Ensure the device type is correct for the device being used. The advanced options can be left as the defaults.

Then click on save.

Reports

There are many reports available under these categories:

  • Admin Reports

  • Custom

  • Data Exports

  • Events

  • Fleet Reports

  • Logbooks

  • Run Hour Reports

  • Scheduled Maintenance

  • Time & Attendance Reports

  • Trip Lists

To access the categories go to “Reports” → “All Reports”.

Format options include PDF, Excel, HTML and CSV.

If you cannot see a report, ensure your partner has mapped it to your organisation:

Scheduled Reports

Scheduled reports allow you to automate the running of a report according to a specified schedule and deliver it to your inbox.

Go “Reports” → “Scheduled Reports”:

Go to “New”:

Use the wizard to specify the report type, report parameters, recipients, and schedule.

Then click on Save.

Odo and Run Hours

Keep track of assets odometers and run hours. The Tracking Platform will increment the counters based on distance travelled and hours on.

Go to Odo/Hours:

Select an Asset.

Click on new asset reading:

Choose the reading Date Time – it cannot be in the future.

Enter your Odometer Reading (optional).

Enter your Run Hour Reading (optional).

Asset History

History can be represented in a few different ways:

  1. Trip History Map View: see the trips for an asset on the map.

  2. Point History Map View: see the locations of non-trip based assets on the map.

  3. Manage Trips: see the trips in table form.

  4. Asset Timeline: see the events in a list.

  5. Asset Daily Coverage Map: show all the trips that assets did on a specified date.

  6. Destination History Map: start and end of trips shown between a specific date range.

To change these settings:

Under “Manage Assets” → “Edit Asset”, go to “I/O Mappings”.

  • If the box next to trip based is unchecked – Point History

  • If the box next to trip based is checked – Trip History

Trip History Map View

Go to the History Button in the top menu ribbon. Select map view:

To see the trip history of an asset on a given day, select the asset from the Asset drop down in the top right. Specify the day that you want to view. Trips for the day will be listed. Click on the trip to view it on the map. The trip starts at the A pin and goes to the B pin. Telemetry for each point can be seen by zooming into the trip and hovering over a point.

Setting up a Geo Fence

Geo Fences allow you to demarcate important areas. Use Geo Fences to:

  • Assign a useful name to an area to be used instead of address lookups – the Geo Fence name will be used instead. E.g. “Driving from Head Office” instead of “Driving from 5 Example Road Name, Example Suburb”.

  • Setup alerts based on position. E.g. Alert when entering a Geo Fence.

  • Record the Geo Fence name on the start or end of an event. E.g. “PTO from Office to Client”.

To setup a Geo Fence, click on Admin in the top menu ribbon. Select Geo Fences:

Click on New to create a new Geo Fence.

You can search for an address to position the map in the correct place.

Click on the map multiple times to create an area which defines this Geo Fence. At least three points must be defined to create an area. Be sure to click the starting point to close the shape.

A common stumbling block is not completing or closing the area. The Geo Fence will not save until it is closed.

Give the Geo Fence a name and an optional comment.

Then click on “Save”.

Address Book

The Address Book is where contacts are setup in the Tracking Platform. Contacts are notified by alerts. You need an Address Book entry to send an alert, so setup your Address Book before creating an alert.

Click on “Admin” in the top menu ribbon. Go to “Address Book”:

Click on “New”:

Fill in the required details. If either the Email Address or Mobile Number are omitted, those contact options won't be available in alerts. Click on “Save”:

Setting up an Alert

Alerts are an important part of any monitoring. They allow exception based reporting. Alerts are very powerful in the Tracking Platform. Here we will present some of the simple setup options using the Wizard. For more advance setup, try the New Alert (Advanced) option.

From the “Admin” menu ribbon, go to “Alerts”:

Select the asset you want to add an alert to.

New Alert Wizard

Go to “New Alert Wizard”:

Select the type of alert from the drop down. The wizard greatly simplifies the setup of a number of common alerts.

Follow the steps through the wizard to add:

  • Conditions specific to the alert.

  • Assets to be assigned to the alerts.

  • Address book entries to be notified by the alert.

Advanced

Use the advanced setup wizard to change settings that are not covered in the simple wizard.

Movement Alert

A Movement Alert is a special type of alert. It is very quick and easy to setup. It is designed to do a once off notification of asset movement. It will only fire once, and need to be setup again afterward. Only the user that setup the alert is notified. Once setup, you will not find it in the “Admin” → “Alerts” view.

To set it up, go to the “Live” View.

Select the asset you want to add an alert to.

Click on the eye icon to set a movement alert:

Click on “Yes” to create the alert:

The next time the device moves, you will be sent a notification. This will only happen once. The notification will only be sent to the user that does the setup. Use a normal alert (previous section) if you wish to get repeated alerts or to notify many address book entries.